Breaking the Rules (Pushing the Limits #1.5) | Katie McGarry | Review

“Sometimes we don’t choose the memories, but they choose us.” ― Katie McGarry, Breaking the Rules

Title: Breaking the Rules (Pushing the Limits #1.5)
Author: Katie McGarry
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Issue: Relationships, Teen Love
More: Goodreads

A summer road trip changes everything in this unforgettable new tale from acclaimed author Katie McGarryFor new high school graduate Echo Emerson, a summer road trip out west with her boyfriend means getting away and forgetting what makes her so… different. It means seeing cool sights while selling her art at galleries along the way. And most of all, it means almost three months alone with Noah Hutchins, the hot, smart, soul-battered guy who’s never judged her. Echo and Noah share everything — except the one thing Echo’s just not ready for.

But when the source of Echo’s constant nightmares comes back into her life, she has to make some tough decisions about what she really wants — even as foster kid Noah’s search for his last remaining relatives forces them both to confront some serious truths about life, love, and themselves.

Now, with one week left before college orientation, jobs and real life, Echo must decide if Noah’s more than the bad-boy fling everyone warned her he’d be. And the last leg of an amazing road trip will turn… seriously epic.

Linemy thoughts

**This is a novella to the first novel, hence the #1.5. Important information has to be obtained by reading the first book Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry, to understand this book. It is an amazing book! I suggest you guys go check it out!
There also may be MAJOR spoilers if you have not read the first book. Just a warning. It is an amazing book! I suggest you guys go check it out!

-Characters-

Echo: I thought about Echo once before while reading Pushing the Limits. I remember saying that I admired her, because she was strong. Not just her physical strength, but her emotional and mental strength. She was hurt by her own mother in such a damaging way. She didn’t completely lose herself in this process. She fought against it even if she didn’t really know what she was doing. I like to think that she never really thought about giving up and that deep in her heart all she really wanted to do was learn how to forgive and maybe accept things in the process

Noah: The man of my dreams. The man who definitely fought. He fought for his brother’s rights and his own. It didn’t matter that he lost those rights, because he learned to accept that things were that way. Noah is loving and caring to both Echo and his brothers. I wouldn’t say that he was the typical bad boy, I mean I guess that on the outside he looks like “the” bad boy. The one who does all the delinquent things and doesn’t give a f**k about it. Like some people, he just needed a little push in the right direction.

Mia: Although she is not one of the “main characters” in the story, she managed to bring out many emotions out of me. Though, most of them seem to be annoyance. Straight up annoyance, no caring, no connection, just annoyance. I can not fathom how people and characters like this just annoy me so much. People like Mia who have no consideration for the feelings of other people. Mia, who is selfish enough to try to damage a relationship to prove a point. To me, it didn’t matter that she was a bitch (well it kind of did, but you get the picture), she was one of those characters that even though you never intend on doing it, you watch out. You watch out, because you know that they have some kind of power. Yes it may not be magical or large powers, but she had enough to bring pain to two characters that you love so much.

-Events-

Beginning: The beginning of the book always has some impact. It give the book a good impression. I enjoyed the beginning. It was a continuation of what was cut off from  Pushing the Limits. Noah and Echo do have to go through many struggles and (please don’t yell at me) didn’t automatically get their own happily ever after. True, I was emotionally wrecked after all the problems that they had to face. **You start off in a completely happy aura and then you read as it slowly tumbles down and the chase for happiness begins.**

Middle Events: Both Noah and Echo’s demons are catching up to them. I swear that I could feel all of the pain and sadness that is radiating from the book’s events. From jealousy to love, to confusion, to self-doubt. It was thrilling and anxious; a rainbow of events. You just had to keep reading even it it was painful, because you needed to find out if the couple you fell in love with will get their [happy] ending. All the tears!

Ending: I’m not going to spoil anything, trust me. I can’t really put anything down without saying something that would ruin it for you guys. Let’s just say that I was satisfied with the ending. A perfect ending for a beautiful book! The perfect blend of romance and understanding!

Final Thoughts: This book was a thrilling ride to the world of reality and the struggles of keeping love alive. It is fast paced with all of the feels and the special moments of love and laughter involved. It never misses a moment of unforgettable moments and will definitely keep the readers heart throbbing with emotions. It is a beautiful continuation to Pushing the Limits. Breaking the Rules is a must read and I definitely recommend this novel to those who can not get enough of Noah and Echo!

Katie McGarry you have done it again! Thank you! Mwah! I shall give you my kisses ;D.


-Music Companions-

1]  Lego House – Ed Sheeran
2]  Cool Kids/Riptide (Cover) – Less is More
3]  Youth – Daughter
4]  Tennis Court – Lorde
5]  Bright – Echosmith

LineWould you read this book? Share and Comment below! 

I have this assignment for English and I have to write a short story. I think I might want to post it on here once I finish it. It tok me about forever to finally get my plot together! Yes, I’ll admit that even I was confused with my own plot! Anyway bye!

Rin03

Leave a comment