Review: The Girl Who Ignored Ghosts by K.C. Tansley

Was received from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review

Title: The Girl who Ignored Ghosts (#1 The Unbelievables)
Author: K.C. Tansley
Publisher: Beckett Publishing Group
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Mystery, Issue: Time Travel, Ghosts, Curses
More: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
Rating: 4 out of 5

Kat Preston doesn’t believe in ghosts. Not because she’s never seen one, but because she saw one too many. Refusing to believe is the only way to protect herself from the ghost that tried to steal her life. Kat’s disbelief keeps her safe until her junior year at McTernan Academy, when a research project for an eccentric teacher takes her to a tiny, private island off the coast of Connecticut.

The site of a grisly mystery, the Isle of Acacia is no place for a girl who ignores ghosts, but the ghosts leave Kat little choice. Accompanied by her research partner, Evan Kingsley, she investigates the disappearance of Cassie Mallory and Sebastian Radcliffe on their wedding night in 1886. Evan’s scientific approach to everything leaves Kat on her own to confront a host of unbelievables: ancestral curses, powerful spells, and her strange connection to the ghosts that haunt Castle Creighton.

But that’s all before Kat’s yanked through a magic portal and Evan follows her. When the two of them awaken 129 years in the past with their souls trapped inside the bodies of two wedding guests, everything changes. Together, Kat and Evan race to stop the wedding-night murders and find a way back to their own time—and their own bodies—before their souls slip away forever.


Line
my thoughts                        Events              Characters

Kat knows what she fears most, and she fears the great possibility and reality of ghosts and the powers they posses. I requested to read and review this book, not because of the very idea of ghosts, but because I saw great potential in this novel of prime diligence. The imagination and thought put into this plot was splendor and visionary. I saw every detail through the lens of my eyes. I wanted fine art and I think I was mostly given what I had hoped for. The story begins with possession and losing all of your soul and body to a force whose intentions you had no knowledge there of. I was introspecting the characters and the plot from the start to finish.

Whilst, I understood the importance the beginning scene had thought the entire novel, I had a minuscule part of myself that had a slight hurdle trying to find a flow in the words and thoughts. Nevertheless, I still held on to the hope that I could love and relish this book. I read on through the study and the tales about the curse. Evan and Kat stand in a stiff place via the beginning. Even directly stating that she saw him to be an “arrogant” person. I viewed Evan as what I call a “book believer”. A person who doesn’t believe in assumptions, tales, or stories unless proven true by hard facts and science. It was blatantly obvious that he did not respect the project or the history and story behind it. (I would have been overjoyed knowing that I would have gotten the opportunity to study a curse).

I felt that the excitement and mystery that was anticipated kick off as soon as Kat and Evan fall through the mirror and somehow find themselves in the past, where events were surrounding the curse on the Radcliffe family and the murder on Cassie Mallory and Sebastian Radcliffe. It was there. The strong essence and paranormal mystery that I was searching for. At this point, I wished that I could have turned back time and digested my love for the novel earlier, because I was completely satisfied and filled by the time it ended.

Along with Kat and Evan, the readers themselves are thrown into a whirlwind where we try to solve the twists of the curse and the root of the mystery. We were given the backdrop, the suspects, and now, we pull out our magnifying glasses and fit the puzzle pieces together. I grew a liking to Toria who had to suffer the pain of unrequited love and the loss of losing it to someone else. I observed from a far the guilt and inner self demise that Cassie and Drew felt. I felt my heart leap as the duo uncovered the truth and were set on fixing the mistakes that was brought form the past to their present.

I highly recommend this book to readers who believe in ghosts and fall head over heels in love with an appetizing mystery. At the end of the day-or the two days that I read this-I give my final rating as a 4 out of 5! Happy reading!

By the way, I do not know is it just me, but I can fell the distinct pull between Evan and Kat? #Eat or #Kan? I can’t decide.

Sticky4X'sThoughts? Share and Comment below!
Rin03

Leave a Reply

