Review: Red by Alyxandra Harvey

“The more magic you used to keep monsters away, the more monsters were drawn to you.”
― Alyxandra HarveyRed

Title: Red
Author: Ayxandra Harvey
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Issue: Powers, Romance
More: Goodreads | Amazon | Author Site
Rating: 4 out of 5

Bad girls burn hot…

Red is the color of Kia Alcott’s hair.

It’s her temper, which blazes hot and always gets Kia into way too much trouble.
And it’s the color of fire. Fires that Kia can start…just by thinking about them.

When her latest “episode” gets her kicked out of school, Kia is shipped off to her grandmother, who works for the wealthy Blackwoods. It’s an estate shrouded in secrets, surrounded by rules, and presided over by a family that is far from normal…including the gorgeous and insolent Ethan Blackwood.

Ethan knows far more about the dangers of the forest surrounding the estate than Kia can ever imagine. For this forest has teeth, and Ethan is charged with protecting the outside world from its vicious mysteries.

But inside, even the most vibrant shade of red doesn’t stand a chance against the dark secrets of the Blackwood family…


4STAR
Linemy thoughtsCharacters

Kia – Headstrong, Different, Unique.

When I was first introduced to Kia, I began to wonder about how much I already enjoyed reading her story and her point of view. I found interest in what she had to do and what secrets she had to keep.I was strung through a journey along with Kia based on her power and what events began to fall in place after she entered into the Blackwoods territory. I thought she was spontaneous in her own way and I admired how she did not just fall weak to the monsters that have tried to get to her.

Ethan – Protective, Fierce, Skilled, Probably Hot.

After all the books I’ve read, I could probably say that I no longer believe in first impressions. First impressions of boys on one hand could be sweet and tangible. His story was told in bits through the story, but if all the mythical items were erased it would have sounded like a heart broken teenage boy who in the end, did not get the girl (lol). On the other hand, it might be annoying and heated from the start (at least in most of the books I read). His jerk like attitude and rude behavior did not even faze me. I knew from the start that something terrible had happened to him. He grew as a person throughout the book as a real person does throughout their entire life.

Sloane – Loyal, Kind.

*sigh* Sloane. I guess you could say that she was the perfect friend. It wasn’t hard to love her. Her attitude was magnetic and unforgettable. She will do and did everything in her power to protect those that she cares about, no matter what it costs her.

x x x

The mixes of personalities were one of my favorite batches to read about.

Events

To actually accumulate to the top of my opinion, I must start by stating that reading Red by Ayxandra Harvey was a refreshing experience. It was something that I have been looking for for a while and have only now found it.

I thoroughly enjoyed this read and it was worth every second of my time. It was filled with the perfect amount of twists and plot turns. The new set of mythical creatures that kept on adding on was surprisingly fitting despite the fact that werewolves were one of those creatures.

The whole details about the monster hunting and ice monsters were very pleasing to take in. And how some of them came to  be was very surprising to say, that I did not expect it. New monsters have been added to my personal archive, because let’s face it, I love monsters 😀

After reading and finding a story just like this-something that I have been trying to find for ages-I loved every bit of it. Yet, I did not not give it a total of 5 stars due to the fact that to me, it did not feel as complete yet. I would have wished for it to be a little longer, because I loved it so much.

Al in all, It was a great read and I recommend this book greatly to those of you would enjoy paranormal and fantasy with a special hint of magical aspects!

music companion
1]
Fire – Gavin Degraw
2]
Four Walls – Broods
3]
Empire – Of Monster and Men
4]
Hurricane – Halsey
5]
Turning Back Around – RHODES

X'sThoughts? Share and Comment below!

Rin03

Leave a Reply

