Review: When by Victoria Laurie

“And in that enchanted moment, as I watch the dates skipping lightly across Aiden’s forehead, instead of death, all I saw was… Life.” – When, Victoria Laurie

Title: When
Author: Victoria Laurie 
Publisher: 
Genre: Young Adult
More: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes&Noble
Rating: 4.5 of out 5

Maddie Fynn is a shy high school junior, cursed with an eerie intuitive ability: she sees a series of unique digits hovering above the foreheads of each person she encounters. Her earliest memories are marked by these numbers, but it takes her father’s premature death for Maddie and her family to realize that these mysterious digits are actually death dates, and just like birthdays, everyone has one.

Forced by her alcoholic mother to use her ability to make extra money, Maddie identifies the quickly approaching death date of one client’s young son, but because her ability only allows her to see the when and not the how, she’s unable to offer any more insight. When the boy goes missing on that exact date, law enforcement turns to Maddie.

Soon, Maddie is entangled in a homicide investigation, and more young people disappear and are later found murdered. A suspect for the investigation, a target for the murderer, and attracting the attentions of a mysterious young admirer who may be connected to it all, Maddie’s whole existence is about to be turned upside down. Can she right things before it’s too late?

my thoughtsI was hooked when I first read the synopsis, mainly because the concept of the book was so unique and so different that it drew me in. I was always curious about this topic. I mean, I never read anything like it, but I had always thought about it in my head. What if someone could see the date people died? Would it be a gift? A curse? Would it help the world?

I picked up When by Victoria Laurie, because I knew that I would enjoy it.

Death within this story was looked at from a different angle than the common answer of soceity. Death is not known, anyone coyld easily die any second, but in the world of When, death becomes something they may be scared of. Some may believe Maddie, some  will not. It is too certain to contain.

The mix of suspense, crime, and the obstacles of life creates a great plot and an awesome story filled with characters that I cared about. I was thrown into a world where I myself, had felt the need to solve the mystery that was dire.

I rated this book a 4.5 out of 5. The beginning was slightly moving at a slow pace, but the middle and end made up for every bit that I felt I had missed while in my slightly zombie state. The story stands out amongst others and will always leave a certain mark in my mind :D.

By the way, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen the model on the cocer somewhere else.. Hmm… Anyone else seen her too?

LineThoughts? Read this book before? Share and Comment below!
Rin03

Leave a Reply

