ARC Review: A Magic Dark and Bright | Jenny Adams Perinovic

*Provided to me by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Title: A Magic Dark and Bright (The Asylum Saga #1)
Author: Jenny Adams Perinovic
Publisher: Bookish Group Press
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Issue: Ghosts, Evil
Publishing On: April 28, 2015
More: Goodreads | Amazon | Author Site

She meant to help a ghost…not unleash a curse.Amelia Dupree hasn’t seen the Woman in White since the night her brother died.

The ghost seems to have disappeared from the woods surrounding Asylum, Pennsylvania—that is, until Charlie Blue moves into the creepy old MacAllister House next door. Amelia can’t help liking him, even though she spent her childhood thinking his grandmother was a witch. And she definitely can’t ignore the connection between his arrival and the Woman in White’s return.

Then Amelia learns that the Woman in White is a prisoner, trapped between the worlds of the living and the dead. Devastated by the idea that her brother could be suffering a similar fate, Amelia decides to do whatever it takes to help the Woman in White find peace–and Charlie agrees to help her.

But when Amelia’s classmates start to drown in the Susquehanna River, one right after another, rumors swirl as people begin to connect the timing of Charlie’s arrival with the unexplained deaths. As Charlie and Amelia uncover the dark history of Asylum, they realize they may have unleashed an unspeakable evil. One they have to stop before everything they love is destroyed.

Linemy thoughts

-Characters-

Amelia is a very free willed person and that was a big part about why I loved the book. Even though she was scared about what was happening and what to do, she continued fighting. I loved how she persevered to get things done. She didn’t shy away from the problems that she had and the things other people said. She stood her ground and fought head on. Her inner strength was as strong and solid as her outer strength.

Charlie was a very shy guy actually. He was a different read for me. I am so used to reading about guys who are too cocky for their own good, overly confident, but had a deep romantic and caring side to them that they didn’t show to the world. Charlie was not one to be overly cocky with himself. He knew exactly how he felt, but he always decided to do what was best and always took others people feelings into his decisions.

Ms. MacAllister was described by the neighbors to be not a very charming old lady. They never hid their distaste for her. I noticed that the way Ms. MacAllister moved had a purpose. When she hid things she always had a reason to do so. She was actually a charming lady, who cared deeply for her family and the safety of the people around her.

I thought that maybe some characters lacked some emotion, but I might as well have been proved wrong.

-Events-

I don’t even know what to say. I loved the story so much! Of course I thought there could have been improvements on some places, but overall it was wonderful. It wasn’t the usual ghost story about how the main character saves the day, but falls for the bad guys tricks. I liked how Amelia understood what she had to do even through she didn’t even know what the hell she had to do yet. I liked how deep within the story, the things that you thought would never happen actually happened and changed your entire view.

I loved the mix of betrayal, power, magic, and love. The story was unbelievably at a perfect pace and I just AHHH!

I felt very much emotion reading things story. I received it through my kindle so that meant that I could also read it on my phone when I was on the go. I honestly read it walking around the grocery story and while I was walking up the stairs (might be dangerous, but haha).

I can’t wait until the release of book two of the Asylum series


-Music Companions-

1]  Use Somebody (cover) – Pixie Lott
2]  
Afraid – The Neighborhood 
3]  
Smooth Criminal – Michael Jackson
4]  
Yellow Flicker Beat – Lorde
5]  
Glory and Gore – Lorde

LineWhat do you guys think of this book? Share and Comment below!

Stars 1-5Rin03

Leave a Reply

